h1

How Do You Spell ‘Relief’

August 9, 2009

Aaahhhh!!!!!! Much better now… thanks for asking. All I needed was about 8 hours of solid sleep to set me right. Funny how you can feel so differently when you’re rested as opposed to exhausted and sleep deprived.

It reminds me of the acronym H.A.L.T. which stands for Hungry, Angry, Lonely, Tired. If you’re feeling out of sorts and can pause and identify it’s cause ( which may be one or more of these 4, or other triggers ) make taking care of that your priority so you can get back on track more quickly. When you’re aware of the cause you are half way to the solution.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

The other thing that has made my night was a call from daughter Sarah from Vancouver. It had been some weeks since our last session so we had some serious catching up to do. That half hour spent talking was an elixir for my spirit.

azazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazazaz

What does next week hold?? I know already that I won’t be straying very far from home or from Freedom’s side. On the plus side, I have some reading lined up. (Which is something I find difficult to do on nightshift – puts me at risk of falling asleep.) I’m intending to set up some daily practices and try to stick to them; do some reading; get out my art materials that have been languishing, unused; take some pictures even if they are mundane everyday subjects. Cruising the blogs I’ve found that even the mundane in one place can be an eye-opener elsewhere. I have a ton of work I could do at the computer especially downloading photos and getting them organized but Freedom will determine whether I get at that or not.

sosososososososososossosososososososososososososososossosososososossososo

**Freedom update** as promised. To save a few keystrokes here I’ll copy an email I sent to a friend last night., to whit:

Thanks for asking about Freedom. She is being so good it’s unbelievable, really. The incision is fine; she’s done her anti-biotics; still on an anti-inflammatory. Lynda has been swapping shifts with workmates in order that we have 24 hour coverage – one or the other of us is with her all the time. We’re still assisting her getting outside with the aid of blanket under her belly. She is just now starting to do some toe tapping and getting the feel of bearing a bit of weight on the leg. I think we’ll get in for a check-up early this coming week to get a read on how she’s doing.

We’re in the middle of a couple of low-pressure rainy days but things are supposed to clear by Monday night in time for the meteor showers. Mother Nature is putting on a show; don’t miss it!! Look north-east at about 6o degrees up and wait.

up where i'd like to be

up where i'd like to be

 

everything's coming up......

everything's coming up......

6 comments

  1. Yay, that’s so good to hear about Freedom, and that your days are looking brighter 🙂

    That HALT thing is really handy, isn’t it. I’ve been using it a bit lately. It’s so weird how these fleeting thoughts and feelings just totally determine how our reality is 🙂


  2. It’s a good tool for when there’s an undercurrent of ‘not-quite-right’ running through your day. Helps me some days, that’s for sure.
    I think Freedom is just about due for another appearance here. She’s a pretty pup.


  3. the HALT thing is a newie for me
    very useful little tool for the lifeskills box
    thanx

    i can almost smell that rose from here
    mmmmm


  4. It can be handy if you start tracking when you feel off. Quite often it’ll be something like these.
    A rose for the ladies.


  5. I’m glad Freedom is doing well.

    That’s a lovely rose. I can almost smell it. 🙂


  6. That’s one of the peachy coloured ones that was in the ‘Bouquet of Dead Flowers’ post.

    Freedom continues to progress day by day, t.g.



Leave a Reply

