h1

Double Nickels 5-5

August 20, 2009

Woo-Hoo!! Happy Birthday to me!

There’s a card to be opened from Mom. Thanks Ma, couldn’t have been here without’cha. A package arrived today from daughter Sarah – I didn’t open the card as yet but the package contained g’son Zeph’s first attempt at fingerpainting as well as a retro photo album chuck full of recent pics. Lynda and I had our evening out with friends on Saturday so we’re good. I’ll be wakening her, no doubt, when I arrive home come morning but that’ll be it for any face-time today.

I share my birth date with Connie Chung, Phil Lynott of Thin Lizzy, John Hiatt and Robert Plant.

While the transition from year to year is normally pretty smooth I have to admit hitting this birthday has taken up more than it’s share of headspace lately. I’m not sure why exactly; maybe for me it’s one of those lines in the sand that mark a particular passage from one phase of life to another. Official ‘Old Fart’ Club membership registration right over here –>.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>><><><><><>>><>

Conversely, I was saddened to hear on the weekend of the passing of Les Paul. Besides being the inventor of the electric guitar (thereby impacting the last 50 years of popular music) he was also an accomplished player, composer, inventor and producer. At 94 he was still appearing regularly on stage at his favorite New York jazz club Iridium. Here’s a 10 minute documentary called ‘Chasing Sound’Β from 2007 that includes his induction to the Inventor’s Hall of Fame.

R.I.P and God bless you Les.

zizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizzizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizizzizizizizizizizizi

lilies for a leo

lilies for a leo

6 comments

  1. Happy Birthday Norm. As the once very popular saying goes, keep on truckin’ You must remember that one from close to 40 years ago… Enjoy… πŸ˜‰

    R(etc… )


  2. Thanks Ron – As chance would have it I recently came across a shot of me wearing that shirt back about 1970. Wore it out…. burned it, dude. Thanks for the good wishes.


  3. well, as long as you’re an official old fart, it’s okay, you wouldn’t want to be an unofficial one, now would you πŸ˜‰

    hope your day was happy, full of love, laughter and cake….


  4. My credentials are gilt stamped on my wrinkly butt – sure looks official. πŸ™‚

    It was a good one – cards, emails and phone calls. I’m planning to bake my own cake this weekend (maybe).


  5. I’m late, as usual…

    Happy Birthday, Norm! πŸ™‚


  6. Thanks Robin.

    When you’re as busy as you have been galavanting up mountains and all & still managing to post you can’t expect to be on top of every little thing.

    The old saw says ‘better late than never’, right?



Leave a Reply

