h1

Revisiting RSS + SEO Info

September 3, 2009

Despite the fact I’ve been blogging for almost 3 years now (already!) I’m not really very tech-savvy. On the geekdom continuum scale I’m probably a 3.5 out of 10. Some of you know that from questions I’ve asked via email ( Robin, Amuirin, Stevo…… et al). On the plus side I did change blog platforms a few months ago from Blogspot to WordPress and I continue to work on my resistance to try new things. Like checking into RSS feeds…..

Now I’m sure, as with most computer matters, there are many ways to skin this particular cat but having done some reading and tried a few things this is how I’m working this out…. and I’ve done it this way because I don’t have the use of my own computer. (At home I’m using Lynda’s.)

1) For friend’s WordPress blogs I’m using the ‘Readomattic’ tab under ‘Dashboard’ and have added both of Robin’s blogs – ‘Life in the Bogs’ and ‘Bountiful Healing’, as well as Amuirin’s ‘Stop & Wander’, lazy buddhist’s ‘Stumbling Along The Path’, ybonesy and Quoinmonkey’s ‘red Ravine’, and Sue’s ‘What Really Happened To Meg’.

2) For blogs on other platforms or whose authors have their own domain I’ve built an iGoogle page and added their feeds to my page content. From Blogspot I have Kel’s ‘xfacta’ and Sue’s ‘Discombobula’. With their own domains I have Stevo at ‘Asian Ramblings’ and Ron at ‘Ron Dubin Photography’. I’m planning to add more from my blogroll as time goes on.

I understand that if I was using my own computer I could be using the ‘Favorites’ folder and the ‘Feeds’ tab for automatic updates.

Yeah, I’m a slow learner but a little progress is better than none at all. (BTW – if you have any input or corrective suggestions / info; I’m all ears.)

yyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyzyyz

If I ever get serious about the content I’m posting and wish to make money from blogging I’ll be doing more reading about SEO in order to increase traffic. I’d likely start all over and begin with an entirely new blog from the ground up. One on-line reference I found is here: http://www.problogger.net/ – scroll down to mid-page for the box titled ‘Popular at Problogger’. Under each of the 4 tabs there are a number of headers related to SEO. Via a query I sent to Stevo at Asian Ramblings I found out about Nomadic Matt’s ebook which contains a wealth of info on SEO. While it is geared to Travel blogs much of the info would be universal or tailorable to specific uses. Find out more here: http://www.nomadicmatt.com/travel-blogs/make-money-with-your-blog/ . One day Matt I’ll be ordering a copy… I just can’t predict when that may happen.

zzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzyzzy

shadowcast clover on cabinet door

shadowcast clover on cabinet door

6 comments

  1. hey small world
    problogger is by Darren Rowse, a Melbourne boy made good, now earns his living from blogging
    back in the early days [before he got really famous] I helped him out by being a virtual editor/researcher for his 2005 blog-a-thon to raise money for Tsunami victims http://breakingnewsblog.com/blogathon/

    your reader feeds sound complicated
    i use bloglines
    so all my feed subs are in one place and i can log on from any computer


  2. Thanks for including me Norm…

    FWIW, I use Outlook and it automatically treats feeds like email. which makes it easy to track everyone. Quite honestly, I don’t think I’d be able to keep up using a web based reader.

    R(etc… )


  3. No probs Ron; I like to stay current with your work.

    Thanks for the info re: Outlook. Another tidbit I had no clue about. I haven’t used Outlook for years & years now – maybe it’s time for another look.


  4. @ Kel – sorry about the delay replying; your comment wound up in the spam folder probably because it contained that link. I’ll have a look at it in a few.

    I can log in from any computer but I just have to log in to two spots instead of one. One on WP for WP; iGoogle for all others. But (dragging feet) I could check into Bloglines, couldn’t I? (The horror; something new again…ha, ha)


  5. You could probably teach me a few things about SEO, cus you’ve actually spent some time looking into it.

    I’m kind of afraid to put too much effort into the marketing side of blogging, cus it might take the fun out, then the barely there lately impulse to write might go away completely.

    (but then maybe more readership would do the opposite. who knows.)


  6. @ Am – Yeah, I’d be taking an entirely new (serious) approach if I were to start building anew. I can understand the concern about taking the fun out but then I also think I’d put more time and effort into it and make it more of a daily practice. In doing so I believe the readership would come and I’d derive some satisfaction and pleasure from that.

    (“if you build it they will come” – film ‘field of dreams’ from the book ‘shoeless joe’ by w.p. kinsella)



Leave a Reply

