h1

Woot! Woot!

September 4, 2009

Let the celebrations begin!! I’m working a shortened week; just 5 nights instead of 7.  50-odd hours instead of 70+… so Lynda and I can attend a friend’s kid’s wedding on Saturday. One of those rare opportunities to get out as a couple and enjoy the nuptials, dinner and some dancing. Oo, Oo; leading into the long Labour Day weekend, too. Gotta like it!!

ququququququququququququququququququququququqququququququququqqu

Any other glass nuts out there?? I just came across this website by a glass sculptor who does realistic representations of germs, viruses and microbes. Beautifully intricate – go see!! http://www.lukejerram.com/projects/glass_microbiology I picked up the link from ‘For the Sake of Science’ – the latest addition to my blogroll. I’ll be digging back through his archives for a better look-see later on. For now, welcome Michael.

eioeioeioeioeioeioeieoeieoeieoeioeioeieoeieoeieoeioeioeioeioeioeioeioeioeioeioeio

Really,

Really,

rreeaallyy

rreeaallyy

f . . . a . . . s . . . t . . .

f . . . a . . . s . . . t . . .

A couple of my nicknames around home are ‘Flash’ and ‘Speedy’ because I’m really not either. I’m sort of a laid back, laconic type – slow moving, I take my time thinking things through, thoughts idle their way to my tongue. But these pictures are evidence of what happens to me when I’ve had way too much coffee. I was just a blur heading through the kitchen on this afternoon.

popopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopopo

Weather-wise this has been the best week of the entire summer once we had those couple of cooler days out of the way. We’re enjoying a long lasting high pressure system with nary a cloud in the sky all week – night or day. Beautiful for night sky-watching. There won’t be a ‘Skywatch Friday’ post this time because all you’d see is big blue skies. I’ve gotten along on 4 to 5 hours sleep a day so I’ve spent lots of time in the yard with the dogs and spent a couple of afternoons, including today, cutting the grass. It was really nice to don shorts and work boots, nix the shirt and enjoy the feeling of the sun beating on my back and shoulders as I worked away. Most days saw a nice breeze and low humidity. Beautiful!! I’m a month or 6 weeks past due for a haircut so the sun has bleached out almost to blond the longer stuff. Maybe I’ll get trimmed up before the wedding; maybe not.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

Here’s an old love song called ‘All We Are’ for anyone feeling the vibe. It’s by a local rocker named Kim Mitchell who has had a long career but who has become an on-air personality on a Toronto classic rock station. He still does the summer concert fest circuit and has a devoted following.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1PXoxgCXus&feature=related

5 comments

  1. Norm, I really like Kim Mitchell. Patio Lanterns was a great song. All We Are along with Go for Soda was on Akimbo Alogo a great album. Go for Soda also opened a Miami Vice episode way back when…

    Do I now qualify for Canadian citizenship and health care? At a bare minimum, what’s the Canadian equivalent of Social Security? I’m old… 😉

    R(etc… )


  2. Why am I not surprised you like Kim?? Actually it was Patio Lanterns I did the initial search for but the audio & video were out of synch. I picked All We Are because I love the lyrics and vocal treatment.

    You will qualify for all the above if you show up at the border and can sing a chorus from any of Kim’s hits; do a reasonable air guitar to any of Rush’s tunes; or recite Leonard Cohen’s Anthem or Hallelujuah. It’s an automatic ‘in’ at Canadian immigration; a little known secret.

    Failing that, if Arnold declares a state of emergency because of the fires, we might be able to fudge it and get you in on humanitarian grounds.


  3. p.s. – If you want to hear Kim on-air he does the afternoon drive show on Q107 and they stream their audio live. He’s quite the character.
    http://www.q107.com/DJsandShows/KimMitchell.aspx


  4. Check on all except Leonard Cohen, I know it’s sacrilegious but I’ve never been that big on him. But, I played hockey for a long time when I was growing up. Used to order a lot of my equipment from north of the border out of Hockey Digest. The UPS guy was my favorite person. Will that do? 😉

    R(etc… )


  5. That’s okay about L.C.; substitutions of Joni Mitchell or Tragically Hip are perfectly acceptable.
    The cross-border hockey equipment purchases will score you a big 50 point bonus at the immigration turnstile.
    You say you are old. Well, I am somewhat poor. Perhaps we could work a deal ‘Uncle’ Ronnie. There is enough camera fodder on this side of the border to keep you busy and happy for a long time to come.



Leave a Reply

