h1

Whew! Nice Knocker

September 9, 2009
who's there?

who's there?

(a nod to Stevo)

So, what’s new?? We attended that wedding on Saturday. Ya know when you’re all revved up for something and looking forward to a night out…. and then things don’t turn out as planned?? Yeah, a bit of a let down, it was. Lynda was feeling a bit off & I was still resetting my clock to regular hours. The ceremony was nice but then there was a big block of time to kill while the wedding party and family had pictures taken. Dinner was late, toasts and speeches dragged on and the dance didn’t start until 10. By then the enthusiasm for the event had seriously waned. Ah, well… c’est la vie.

Mom took possession of her condo apartment the other day and Lynda and I got over to see it last night. Nice space! I think she’ll settle in there very nicely. The movers come Friday and then she has an additional week to clear her present house of anything left.

Most of my time spent these last few days the computer have been devoted to a renewed job search. (I know it’s ongoing and has been going on forever but…) The official jobless stats for this area are pegged at just over 10% but don’t include those whose unemployment benefits have run out and those who have given up on looking for work through gov’t channels. I keep looking and hoping that my skill set can be put to use elsewhere.

I’ve been reading for pleasure more lately. Finished Hunter S Thompson’s ‘Rum Diary’ and thoroughly enjoyed it. Now I’m into Canada’s ‘lady of letters’ Margaret Atwood’s “Moral Disorder”; a collection of stories exploring a family history. It has been some years since I read anything of hers but as I was reading I felt I hadn’t enjoyed reading anything so much for a long time. I could likely use the aid of someone parsing the stories and showing me the devices she uses so well in the telling of them. Good stuff.

Time to head out into the yard with the dogs before it gets too hot for them. We still have that high pressure system hanging about and keeping this run of fine late summer weather happening. The grass and flowers are getting sunburnt but that’s okay by me.

8 comments

  1. looks like something on a boat

    wishing you success with the job hunt
    it’s an ongoing thing for me too
    takes a lot of energy to keep hunting
    hope you catch something good real soon


  2. Everything to do with hunting for a job has changed radically these last number of years. I’m trying to look at the situation wearing a brand new set of glasses and see if I can’t come up with a different slant on things.

    I wish you lots of luck and success in your search as well. Say hi to B for me.


  3. My continued sympathy the job hunt, Norm. As you know, I’m in the same boat. Fortunately, I’ve had a bunch of freelance work come in. Now I don’t know how to get it all done.

    Have you read Annie Prouxl’s “Shipping News”?


  4. I’m glad your business continues to keep you busy. Best of luck in staying on top of it.

    I’m still over here in your corner rooting for you to find something new and interesting where you can apply your talents.

    I found a review of ‘Shipping News’ here: http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=7724, and it sounds like it’d be up my alley. Have to pass that along to my cuz BJ and her reading group.


  5. My mom had a really similar experience at a wedding recently. The bride and groom left to go have pictures taken like, in the middle between the service and the reception.

    And they never came back.

    After waiting two and half hours, my mom and step-dad excused themselves to the bride’s family, explaining they’d put aside the afternoon, but hadn’t planned to stay past 8pm cus of other plans.

    It was the weirdest thing I’d ever heard of.


  6. I like knockers too, Norm, as you already know.

    Wedding are generally evil. I don’t especially like attending them.


  7. @ Amuirin – It seems to be getting more the norm lately – an early afternoon wedding, a couple or three hours for photos of the bride, groom, attendants and families thereof, then on to the reception around dinnertime. Crazyness.

    I’ll put up a pic of the happy couple.

    BTW – I don’t blame your mom & step-dad. It isn’t very good manners to have your guests looking for ways to kill time in-between time.


  8. @ Stevo – Generally I enjoy them and the sentiments expressed; this one, not so much.

    Lynda and I keep referring to this event as ‘the beautiful affair’ because of the oft repeated comments about the bride’s appearance, during the toasts and speeches. (Begged the questions…? How did she look yesterday? Like a dawg?)



Leave a Reply

