h1

Down TO The Wire

September 28, 2009

Okay, so… mea culpa. It’s getting near the end of my shift and I had this post in mind to write but I was distracted; by work of all things. Well, for a while at last. Then on to roaming the blogs and catching everyone’s recent posts. Best laid plans and all…

Alien visitor – There I was in the shower yesterday and I happen to look out the window. Yoiks….!! Looking back at me is a Praying Mantis and he’s really watching, too. I move my hand this way – and his little triangular head swivels this way, too. Wave it over here – back it comes again. A little creepy, hmm? I named him Tom but it could just as well have been Bob. I don’t think the pictures I took turned out very well, what with the steamy window and all, but I’ll post one if it’s any good. There was no sign of him today. I sure hope that big-assed spider hunkered over in the corner didn’t get him.

Had the dogs in the yard and I spy a Wooly Caterpillar lumbering through the grass. I wave Milo off cuz that dog’ll eat anything that moves and I’m pretty sure caterpillars wouldn’t agree with his not-so-delicate system. The weather prognosticators claim they can predict what winter will be like based on the caterpillars coat. If this one is to be believed (or copied) we’re going to need nice long, thick, warm coats ourselves to get through this one. Ditto with the pictures; as above.

Yes, the dogs. I had Freedom back to the vet last week for another check up with the surgeon. No real concern – just getting his opinion. Both he and the vet are seeing signs of progress; Lynda and I somewhat less so. We’re continuing to be very cautious and one of us is with her 24/ 7. Freedom’s recovery is so incremental, so slow that the improvements aren’t terribly apparent to us. We need some outside perspective periodically. Milo is getting ripped off; not getting the attention and exercize he needs. He’s as smart as a whip and a bundle of repressed energy. Quite the personality.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

Meant to mention that I caught a documentary (/interview) about (/with) W.P. Kinsella, writer of ‘Shoeless Joe’ which became the film ‘Field of Dreams’. You know – ‘If you build it, they will come.’  The documentary was a nice piece of work that covered his entire life and career. I was especially glad they visited on an earlier section of his writing that I loved which involved a series of books about life on a native reservation in Western Canada. He created a colourful cast of characters including Frank Fencepost and Mad Etta, the medicine woman. Kinsella’s writing ended when he suffered a head injury and was in a coma, bed-ridden for 3 months. A long convalescence. Since then he has editted (with the help of his wife) his previous output for collections but written very little.

3 comments

  1. We’ve got a lot of those alien visitors round here, and they are so alien looking. BTW, the really big ones can bite; we found out the hard way.

    Norm, this morning I saw some mandalas on Heather’s (anuvue)blog that made me want to show them both to QM and you. Here is the link:

    http://anuvuestudio.wordpress.com/2009/09/26/raina-colvin/

    They are most astonishing and a great inspiration for where one’s love of mandala practice can take one.


  2. Ha, ha – I had heard mantis’ can take a good chunk out of you with those scissor jaws. I hope it wasn’t one of the kids on the recieving end of the bite.

    As for Raina’s work; isn’t that range of images incredible??… and her use of colour!! Amazing!! So, thanks so much for directing me that way. It is an inspiration, to be sure.

    This past week I’ve been collecting all my art supplies and getting them into one portable carry-all, so who knows?? Maybe some new output soon. (fingers crossed)


  3. […] 2, 2009 Here’s some (really bad) photo evidence of the creatures I mentioned the other day HERE. Sorry about the picture quality…. the focus when zoomed really sucks. Praying Mantis […]



Leave a Reply

