h1

Bittersweet Change

September 29, 2009

….. pending.

synchronicity

synchronicity

I’m considering changing this avatar / I.D. picture that I use and I’ll tell you why. It’s a picture of Grandson Owen and I taken a couple of summers ago during his usual week long visit with us. That visit didn’t happen this year because of a falling out between Owen’s father, J, and his brother, C, and their respective partners. Owen’s Mom and Dad won’t visit us because they might run into C. With Lynda’s and my screwed up schedules we haven’t seen Owen since the spring; there has been little chance to make it out to their place. Now, every time I see this picture it reminds me of all the good times we ought to be enjoying with Owen, and aren’t. Lynda is considering a run out there Wednesday afternoon in time for Owen getting home from school and perhaps staying until his bedtime but… I’m working so she’ll be flying solo this trip.
Bloody people! You can pick your friends but you can’t pick your family, or your wife’s family either. Kiss and make up already. Admitting you are wrong isn’t the end of the world.
Anyway, if you see a comment with my name attached but a new photo it is still the same old me; just looking a bit different.
6 comments

  1. that must be very frustrating
    losing quality time with the grandson
    because others are being silly buggers

    however, i look forward to seeing what you choose as your new profile picture 🙂


  2. You’d think that by mid 30’s there would be an appreciation for the bigger picture and some maturity shown. Too much to hope for I suppose.

    Not too sure what I’ll use for the new profile shot…. I’ll come up with something soon.


  3. That is awful to be caught in the middle of other people’s fights. Especially when it involves a young child. They grow up so quickly.


  4. Yes Kitty – He’ll never be ‘five-and-a-half’ again. Gotta work on this situation.


  5. Poor kids always seem to get caught in the middle of adult stupidity. Kids need a grandparent’s unconditional love. Hope they figure it out soon.


  6. Thanks for stopping by and caring to comment Shawn. Yes, it is unfortunate and I miss the little guy. Brickbats for my 2 step-sons might be appropriate. (Though I’ll let their mother do the application, thereof.)

    Y’all come back now… hear?



Leave a Reply

