h1

Wow, October Already

October 1, 2009
re-post of 'Ice Tower' flare

re-post of 'Ice Tower' flare

(Taken one very cold day last winter.)

These last few days have seen a massive change in the weather and the forecasters are saying the summery temps are OVER. We’re firmly into fall now. Along with a big southerly dip in the jet stream came a big, slow moving low pressure system which brought days of on-and-off rain – mist, drizzle, showers and deluges – and wind; lots and lots of wind. It’s 4 a.m. and down to about 5C or 40F. If it were just a bit more humid and a degree or two cooler we would have frost. Shucks – maybe tomorrow night.

With the onset of the cooler weather I’ve started into my perpetual chill stage which will last until March or April. It’s the one big disadvantage of being underweight (and a smoker) – all it takes is a cool breeze and I’m all gooseflesh and chilled to the bone. Lord help me when the real cold weather arrives. There’s already an extra afghan on my side of the bed and I broke out my long underwear today for the season. Ho, ho, ho…..! ‘Cold hands; warm heart’, the old saying goes. One more incentive to quit smoking; fewer trips outside.

nmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnnmnmnmnmnmnmnmn

Do you use a reader for automatic updates on blog posts and news feeds?? Got a favourite? Ron tipped me that he uses ‘Outlook’ and that blog posts come as emails. I was using both an iGoogle page as well as WordPress’ ‘Readomattic’. Kel turned me on to ‘Bloglines’ and I’m liking it. (I don’t bother with my iGoogle page anymore.) I have 16 blog feeds as well as subscriptions to 4 of their partner feeds. (Interesting stuff on Cool Tools, Engadget, Slashdot.) Is there anything better out there?? Talk to me people……

11 comments

  1. glad to hear you’re liking bloglines

    your number of feeds got my attention
    i have 233!

    now wondering if there are BA meetings . . .
    bloglines anonymous
    😉


  2. Nice pic. It’s slowly warming up here. The extra blanket I’ve got on the bed is too hot by the time I wake up in the morning.

    Weather related stories fill the news here. There have been two earthquakes in Indonesia, a tsunami in Samoa, a typhoon heading for the Philippines. Crazy.

    I do use a reader but I find they’re all pretty much of a muchness really


  3. now i’m curious as to how many feeds other people have in their readers . . . perhaps its my communication/journo background . . . perhaps i’m just addicted to blogs


  4. I have 93 Kel and feel like I need to cull. How the HELL do you manage with 233? 😀

    LOL. Forty seven of mine are yours too, harrrrr


  5. Nah… I’m still old school and hit the links I’ve added to my blogroll or subscribe to blogs via WordPress. I tried Google reader, added too many, and decided I had to cut back and going the old fashion (heh) way seemed best.

    Your repost of the ice tower scared me! I thought it was a new one and wondered how long it would take for that cold to reach me (not long given it only has to move across the lake!).


  6. Cool! I see you folks are having fun in my absence .

    Firstly – kel, Kel, KEL – Push yourself away from the computer!!!! Stand back and no one will get hurt! Whatd’ya mean 233??? Holy CRAP! If there aren’t B.A. meetings perhaps we can start one. Too funny!

    Sue – 93 might be seen as excessive, too but who am I to judge? Do you have a preference for which reader you use on a regular basis.

    Robin – That’s what I was doing, old school, but found it was throwing my stats off (number and length of visits). Yeah, your weather becomes my weather in what, maybe 3 to 5 hours, and vice versa depending on how the wind blows.

    btw, I do intend to up the number of feeds I subscribe to; I’ve just been lazy about adding them.


  7. ahem,
    i am not an addict . . .
    okay – first stage is denial 🙂

    in my career background I’ve done a lot of communication, marketing, journalism stuff – and part of that involves keeping the finger on the pulse of all sorts of topics – i’m pretty good on the scan speed read
    it’s the only way you can survive being an editor in this day and age

    now that i’ve hijacked your blog Norm, I shall trundle off . . .

    that said, not all of my 233 feeds publish every day, some only post monthly or even less, and others

    okay – second stage is rationalising 🙂

    i have always read a lot – used to a be a bookworm, now i’m a blogworm


  8. see, when you type and read fast, there are lots of typos :O


  9. ahem…. right after justification it’s usually followed by realization, then admittance and eventually acceptance. :), but I’m glad you recognized the denial and rationalization.

    The 1st step in B.A. – ‘We admitted we were powerless over our blogs/blogging/blogdom and our lives had become unmanageable.’

    Saw an item on the news about a treatment centre for computer addicts – remote, completely non-wired. Scary, eh?

    btw, I don’t see any typos…. I guess I wouldn’t cut it as an editor. 😉


  10. yes, i did get to the admit stage
    i’m a blogworm 🙂


  11. Good on ya, Kel. Recovery is just a few steps away. (12)



Leave a Reply

