h1

Dashboard Views

October 10, 2009

During a rain storm the other night I reluctantly hauled my ass off the couch and drove a friend on an errand. While waiting in the car I snagged a few shots of the dash and through the windhield.

cold rain

cold rain

running rivulets

running rivulets

ol' shakey at the controls

ol' shakey at the controls

osatc 2

osatc 2

Oh, and guess what, Am? I’m sick (not seriously so) and working. I’m almost ashamed to say I was in bed around 9 p.m. last night and stayed there until about 8:30 a.m. Mind you I spent the first hour reading more of Jeanette Walls’ The Glass Castle which I started a couple of days ago. Eminently readable; very interesting. Previously I ditched The Shipping News after about 100 pages. I rarely leave a book unfinished once I start reading it but never did get drawn in – had no interest in the characters or where the plotline was taking them. Just not my cuppa tea, I suppose, despite it’s recommendation. (Sorry SueYM.)

So, tons of water and tea for me. Picked up some honey on the way to work tonight for my throat. Sensitive creature that I am, I don’t medicate myself for colds as my system is so damned pure now that just about everything throws me off kilter. (Whereas before I’d take enough meds to choke a horse, wash ’em down with an ocean of booze so that I’d be unaware that I was sick….. funny how things change.) Lots of liquids and as much time in bed as possible – that’s the Rx for me. (and maybe a little oil of oregano)

4 comments

  1. Hope you feel better soon! My book club loved The Shipping News, I just thought it was okay;)


  2. Hope you’re starting to feel better, Norm. Water, tea and honey work for me, too.

    The Glass Castle was an interesting read. The Shipping News, not so much, but I did manage to finish it. I just couldn’t feel any kind of sympathy for the main character. He got on my nerves.

    I like your shaky shots. 🙂


  3. Thanks for stopping in and caring to comment bookbabie. Yeah, I just couldn’t stick it out to see what happened re: Shipping News.
    I’m trying to be kind to myself and getting what rest I can – no time to be sick. 😉


  4. Quoyle wasn’t a character I could engender much sympathy for or identify with very much. I’m thoroughly enjoying Glass Castle but trying to go slowly so I don’t finish it too fast.

    🙂 Glad you like the non-figurative shots. I’m liable to shoot just about anything to see what I get.



Leave a Reply

