h1

Hard Frost

October 12, 2009
a little autumnal colour

a little autumnal colour

I’ve been meaning to get out and get some shots of the fall colour change. Between the weather, how I’ve been feeling and my sorta wacky hours that hasn’t happened  as yet. Hopefully the rain and wind don’t strip the trees of their leaves before I have a chance to do so. This shot is from a brief walk I took today to the local grocery store to pick up a pound of butter. Tonight the temperature is down to 0C / 32F so this will be our first hard (or ‘killing’) frost of the season. Meaning, that those trees which haven’t already started the colour change, will.

The days have gotten noticeably shorter and now I drive to and from work in the dark. Daylight Savings Time swings around at the end of the month and then it’ll be dark by dinnertime. Gack! Let the dread begin. It’s also time to buy some new tires for the car because the ones I have won’t do for the coming winter weather driving conditions. Out in Calgary where my son Russ lives they’ve had snow 3 times this past week…. heh, heh, heh.

Yeah, this is the Canadian Thanksgiving holiday weekend. Lynda did up the whole enchilada – turkey w/dressing, smashed potatoes, turnip, corn, gravy, rolls, pumpkin pie for dessert, an apple crisp and some other yummy sort of cake. Lynda’s brother moved in with us a couple of weeks ago and had invited two of his daughters down for dinner from out-of-town, along with one of their husbands and their daughter. Anyway, that was quite a breakfast to get stuffed on before coming to work tonight….. and there is another dinner just like it waiting for me in the fridge here at work. Dunno if I can handle that or not. I was talking to Lynda before she headed for bed and she said we have no leftovers to worry about. All the food she prepared is gonzo…. but there are still a few dirty dishes she didn’t get to.

I spent over an hour on the phone earlier tonight talking with my daughter Sarah out in Vancouver. We hadn’t spoken for a little over a month so we had lots of catching up to do. Here’s a secret, something I bit my tongue about and didn’t share with her. It is my fervent wish that she doesn’t marry her fiance, D., Zeph’s father. Every time I get talking about him and learn something new of him I could scream and tear my hair out in handfuls. *shakes head* Argghh!!! Time will tell, I suppose, but I don’t have high hopes that he will ever change very significantly. Sarah deserves better; much, much better.

There are some cool things happening in the night sky this week – check it out HERE. When I got home yesterday morning the Big Dipper was standing upright on it’s handle and Venus was a beacon in the east.

4 comments

  1. It sounds like you had a good Thanksgiving. 🙂 I’m getting hungry just reading about it.


  2. end of daylight savings for you
    start of it has just occurred here

    hanging out for autumn . . .
    i’m not a big fan of summer heat


  3. You still have about 6 weeks to anticipate and work on your appetite for your Thanksgiving. Ours was delicious…. mmm…. mmm!!


  4. I’m curious to know why different countries don’t synchonize the onset and end of DST. Seems a bit wonky, doesn’t it? (Mind you, not all provinces here subscribe to the change and stay on standard time all year.)

    You know where to send any of that heat you don’t want, doncha?? Bring it on. We put the furnace on for the first time today – those ceraminc and hardwood floors get awfully cold.



Leave a Reply

