h1

A Shadow of My Former Self

October 14, 2009
shadowy man on a shadowy planet

shadowy man on a shadowy planet

Aacchhoooo! To say I’m feeling kind of lousy would be an understatement. I shoulda listened when blog-friend Amuirin chastized me the other day HERE. This flu / cold started off very mild but appears to be picking up steam with each passing day and night. Maybe today was the nadir when I spent the afternoon sweating my butt off as I did some housework before cleaning up to come to work. There were a couple of times when I stood up too quickly from being bent over and everything went swimmingly greasy; vision-wise. Wooo…. hold ‘er Newt!! Hadn’t had a head-rush like that for 6+ years; y’all know what I mean. Unfortunately I don’t have the option of not working so here I am. C’est la vie; poor, poor me. Bring on the tea and sympathy. Looking forward to home and bed come morning.

nmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmnmn

On my way to work tonight I visited my friend Terry in hospital. (I was gloved, gowned and masked; sanitized.) His prognosis isn’t good but he seems to be responding to his radiation treatment. His cancer has moved into his bones and he has a mass in the discs at the base of his neck. Apparently the tumour was applying pressure to his spinal column and that is why his larynx was affected causing him to sound like he had laryngitis – the signals from his brain were getting scrambled on the way to his voice box. Back on Saturday night one of my fellow group members brought Terry from hospital to the A.A. meeting we were attending. It was a 10 year medallion presentation and Terry had been asked to take part. I was shocked when he was wheeled in at the last minute and then hauled himself up to the podium to do a reading. He took the opportunity to essentially say good-bye to the many there who knew him. He tore a few hearts out in doing so but he got to say his piece. Tonight he was looking better; better pallor; more energy; lucid. I’m glad I went despite the fact I was sick. No one seems to know how this is going to pan out or how much time he might have left. This series of radiation treatments wraps up this week and there will be a 2 week lag before they can determine what beneficial effect the treatment wrought. God love him; I do.

4 comments

  1. don’t you guys get sick leave?
    or are you casual?

    maybe swine flu has made it to Canada

    methinks you need more than tea and sympathy

    colloidal silver is something to consider seriously


  2. No, we don’t have enough staff coverage to get time off….. and I don’t think Swine Flu has made it this far east yet. There have been some cases reported on the west coast. Colloidal silver – have to look into that. Thanks Kel.


  3. Cancer is such a pall over the land. I don’t know if it’s become the #1 killer yet- heart disease used to have that, but I just don’t believe it. Everyone I know has been touched in some way by cancer.

    😦

    Oh, and, I told you so.


  4. Thankfully for me no one else I’m close to has been through this for quite some time. I hate seeing the effects in Terry who is generally a vibrant, robust character.

    …and, oh, yes, you did so and I won’t forget it. 🙂



Leave a Reply

