h1

R.I.P. Terry C.

November 1, 2009

My friend Terry has died. His wife Audrey called me Thursday night as I was on my way in for my last night of work to tell me he had been taken back into Emerg by ambulance. Terry’s lungs had begun filling with liquid and he was no longer able to stand un-aided.

Friday night he enjoyed a long visit with his son, daughter-in-law and two grandsons. Through the night Terry slipped into a coma and died at 10 Saturday morning. Audrey called me before noon to deliver the news. Cancer, then congestive heart failure.

Terry was a retired high school teacher who had been sober 27 years. He was one of the men I met at my very first A.A. meeting and he was a primary reason why I joined the Grace Group of A.A. I haven’t met anyone who applied themselves so rigorously the the A.A. way of life or who put so much of themselves into practicing the principles. What he knew, he shared and I’ve been the beneficiary of his ongoing care.

God love him; his acceptance and faith never wavered. I miss him.

8 comments

  1. Sorry for your loss Norm…

    Ron


  2. Oh, that’s sad Norm 😦


  3. Thanks Ron – He was quite a guy. I could write a book….


  4. So hard losing a friend like this. Hoping for a breakthrough in treatment or a rally in health…. but no.


  5. I’m sorry for your loss, Norm. Hugs to you.


  6. Thanks Robin – Last night was difficult in that it was our first meeting since Terry passed…. but A.A. doesn’t take a break for anything. There were some good rememberances and sentiments shared during the meeting and a bunch of us hung around talking afterward.

    Visitation today and this evening; full funeral mass tomorrow.


  7. Full funeral mass… ugh. Those are brutal. I think they are purposely designed to turn everyone inside out. At least that was how I felt after Mom’s full funeral mass. But if I look at it with a positive slant, it did bring up and out a lot of the tears and grief, releasing some of the pressure that was building up.

    Sending you more hugs, Norm. These last goodbyes can be so difficult.


  8. Terry was a devout Catholic so I’m not at all surprised this is the route they chose as opposed to a simple service.

    Having never experienced one of these before I’ll let you know how I make out. I’m off to the funeral home in a few minutes.



Leave a Reply

