h1

Bright and Bitterly Cold

January 29, 2010

A week ago we enjoyed a couple of days of mild weather; +6C. Last night the mercury dipped to -18C with windchills near -40. Bloody hell it was cold. Todays high was only -8 and I found it pretty chilly while I was out and about doing some food shopping. This evening is going to be a food fest; I’m having one of my ‘hungry days’. Noshing on all sorts of bits & pieces – Indian naan bread with humus, some macaroni casserole, yogurt and berries…. whatever lands in front of my nose, it seems.

curly swirly colourful bubbles in glass

As promised here is my one and only photo of my old friend Audrey who celebrated her 90th birthday earlier this month. I’m hoping friend’s photos of the two of us turn out better than this one of mine…… anyway, here’s my girlfriend:

Audrey G @ 90

The other night Lynda and I were watching a repeat episode of ‘Spectacle’ – the one with Rosanne Cash, Kris Kristofferson, John Mellencamp and Norah Jones as the guests. Rosanne intro’d a song which she, Kristofferson and Elvis Costello co-wrote during a one-off session on the only common day they had to work together, ‘April 5th’. Here’s a video of the song – it’s beautiful. April 5th happens to be Lynda’s and my wedding anniversary. Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cldEvQP_igA

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Not much else is new – still no work and no prospects on the horizon. Still struggling to manage moods but – faith conquers fear; this too shall pass; brighter days ahead…. yadda, yadda…. a day at a time. I’m okay.

6 comments

  1. I’m struggling to manage moods too, Norm (just for something different). I shall keep you in my mind as I do this, as an encouragement that you too are going through this. Oh, I DO hope the job situation changes soon!

    That Audrey – wow, she looks amazing!! Lively, you know? Wow! 🙂


  2. Thanks for your good wishes Sue. I’ll be keeping you in mind as well.

    Yes, Audrey is something else. Very active; still out 4 or 5 evenings a week at meetings. Each time I see her she gives me a hug, looks me straight in the eye and asks how I’m doing. Then she’ll start kidding around and lean in with,’ there’s no love like old love, ya know!’ Wow, indeed.

    I’ve been checking into what being a provincial Court Services Officer entails…. we’ll see.


  3. that sounds like an ‘official’ kinda job – provincial court officer

    i was summonsed for jury duty this coming week, and worked my butt off at the day job this past week to make sure i wouldn’t get too far behind while on jury duty . . . then they cancelled the trial dates i was matched with – sheesh – a week of stress and migraines for nothing!

    next time i get summonsed, i’m gonna apply to be excused

    that was a beautiful song on the video
    and i love that swirly glass ornament

    have you been playing with any art stuff lately?


  4. I like your curly swirly bubbles. 🙂

    It’s bitterly cold here too. Sometimes I think I’ll never be warm again.

    I hope something comes through for you soon, Norm. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.


  5. Hiya Kel – too bad about being cancelled out after all the prep. I’ve sat in on a couple of court sessions and it’s a mix of excitement and boredom.
    Glad you enjoyed the song; I really like the tune, the words and the excellent job they did of performing it.
    And nope; completely uninspired to pick up any of my art materials, even to play. Into a very linear way of thinking these days that doesn’t translate well to imaginitive endeavors.


  6. 🙂 Good to ‘see’ you Robin and thanks for the compliment and well wishes. I figure I’ll thaw out around Easter……. c’mon summer!!



Leave a Reply

