h1

Recently…..

November 4, 2010

A couple of nights working; now a couple of days off. I finally made up my mind to take the severance package so I’m no longer associated with the rehab centre. Guess I’ll finally have to update my profile page here, huh? Last night my A.A. home group was responsible for putting on a meeting at another groups meeting place (a thing called Interchange) and I decided I was ready to speak. Previously I hadn’t felt emotional, mentally or spiritually stable enough to get up and do that. It went off pretty well with a number of people coming to me afterward to talk about what I had to say, including one previous client from ‘the house’ who has been out on another booze and coke run. Anyway, I only choked up once which I thought was pretty good considering circumstances lately.

Other A.A. stuff – my term as chair for our district meetings ends at years end. It’s been a good two years, service-wise. I was elected to a committee chair position which will be lighter duty – another 2 year post. (Spirit of rotation so you don’t have the same crew running things and everyone has a chance to get involved.)

Musical interlude from the ‘Crazy Heart’ soundtrack – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zelvaxvTaUk

Lots to do today once it warms up a little . The trees around here are about 75% bare so I have about a kazillion leaves to bag up before garbage day tomorrow. Shopping to do. Lynda and I are taking Mom out for dinner tonight.

More music? Roseanne Cash’s “September When It Comes”. Duet with Johnny the year before he died. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oqqzwcJwMk

Finished reading Alice Munro’s “Hateship, Friendshhip, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage” and thought it to be very good. Got about 3/4 of the way through George Carlin’s autobiography ‘Last Words’, which was finished posthumously for him by Tony Hendra. You get a good picture of the things that drove his success and his ways of thinking about comedy as a way of confronting society’s foibles. I came across a book of Shel Silverstein’s so that is next up. He’s always struck me as being a bit ‘out there’ so we’ll see how it goes. Should be fun.

A little crooning by Bryan Ferry from his latest “Olympia”…. scroll down and hit play. http://stereogum.com/543642/bryan-ferry-song-to-the-siren-feat-jonny-greenwood-david-gilmour-roxy-music-stereogum-premiere/mp3s/

Would any post be complete without a photo. Some have seen this one before as it was taken at the rehearsal for the wedding in Calgary there about 7 or 8 weeks ago. I like the lighting of the space.

Pause

6 comments

  1. this post seems to have a theme of doors, some closed and others opened

    what a load off your mind that must be Norm, to have finalised the severance package, hopefully it might ease some of the immediate financial stressors

    love the light play in your photo

    as you step through some new doors
    may the light keep shining on you
    making clearer the direction ahead
    while casting the shadows behind you


  2. Yes Kel – Though it’s a decision that I made with some sadness I’m glad it’s a done deal. I don’t have to occupy my mind with the matter any more. I chose the money because I need to get my car road-worthy for winter; it has to be reliable in the cold and storms.

    Went to the library yesterday to return some books and restock and they were having their annual booksale!!!! Thousands of volumes for $1 and $2 apiece. Luckily I didn’t have much money on me and walked away with just two – could’ve spent a fortune.

    That’s a very nice blessing – nice way with words and images.


  3. You’re such a reader. I will have to go back a bit to catch up on what’s happening in your life. I know your family suffered a tragedy. It impresses me how you continue to help others through crisis, but maybe that’s also the only way.

    Hope you are doin’ ok *hug*


  4. Wonderful light in that photo, Norm. 🙂


  5. Thanks Am – Yeah, I’m a-doin’. Doing alright. Glad to ‘see’ you here.


  6. Hey Robin – Glad you like it. Thanks!



Leave a Reply

