h1

Words and Music

November 15, 2010

Music: Lately as I’ve been reading the daily papers (Toronto Star, National Post, NYT) I’ve been clipping items from the entertainment pages that contain ‘tinyurls’ which lead either to audio versions of songs or sometimes the opportunity to download them. Mostly I’ve remembered to hang onto them and when I have some time at the computer check them out. It did get me curious about tinyurls as I’ve really been out of the loop for a long time now and know nothing about them (God bless my tech challenged head.). Yesterday I came across a site strictly for songs and you can plug in a song title or artist / group and listen to it or share it via Twitter, Facebook or email. The main site is http://www.tinysong.com/ (We’ll see if it works here…. ahem, lemme see…) http://tinysong.com/rFWZ Ta-Dahhh!!!! This is the Johnny Cash song which accompanies ‘The Johnny Cash Project – an open source compilation of various artists works for an animated video of the song….. found here. (Be patient; it is large and takes a few seconds to load) http://www.thejohnnycashproject.com/. (Scroll down to watch the video.)

A few others – Neil Young’s new one ‘Walk With Me’ produced by Daniel Lanois. Scroll down to video screen. http://www.speakersincode.com/2010/09/jam-of-day-neil-young-walk-with-me.html

New one by The Cars – ‘Blue Tip’ http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=445115559565

The Decemberists – ‘The King is Dead’  video preview http://www.decemberists.com/

Tired Pony – The Place We Ran From – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sC68mAQYstE

(These are the pages which the tiny urls took me to.)

Words: So, since last time around I have read…

actually reread both Jeannette Walls ‘Glass Castles’ and Malachy McCourt’s ‘A Monk Swimming: a Memoir’.

A powerful memoir by David Sheff titled ‘Beautiful Boy: A Father’s Journey Through His Son’s Addiction’. I have his son’s book on hold at the library which covers the same ground from his point of view… Nic Sheff – ‘Tweak’.

Bill Bryson’s ‘Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid; a memoir’.  I have a couple of his others on hold too…. ‘A History of Nearly Everything’ and; ‘At Home’.

I don’t typically read many novels but I was glad I bought this one at the library’s sale, ‘The Secret Lives of Bees’ by Sue Monk Kidd. Beautifully written… transporting.

A collection of Shel Silverstein’s poetry called ‘Light in the Attic’ which was as entertaining for his illustrastions as his words. (Also bought at the sale – a steal at $2) On the same trip I found a tribute album of Shel’s songs performed posthumously by a variety of artists, including Kris Kristofferson, John Price, Nanci Griffith and Lucinda Williams. It is called ‘Twistable, Turnable Man- A Musical Tribute To The Songs Of Shel Silverstein’.

I’m currently reading a mystery by Harlan Coben which helps pass the time until I make it back to said library.

Other news – Cousin BJ and I will see one another at the end of the month for the first time in 2 to 3 years. The occasion is a celebration for her father (my late father’s eldest brother) who is turning 90 years young. So, barring any screw ups in my work schedule we should get some face time.

Other, other news – Looks like (same proviso) long time blog friend Kel and I may have a face-to-face meeting along toward New Years. She and her hubby are celebrating Xmas on this side of the Pacific and doing a bit of a road tour which will bring them past our front door. This is one of those ‘once in a lifetime opps’, so count me in.

Must get on with the day, accomplish something, have a nap and then off to work for the night. Bye.

4 comments

  1. cool, thanx for the link to tinysong site Norm, such a handy little tool which I’m sure to make use of in the near future

    i’ve seen the movie “secret life of bees” and it was very touching, a copy of Bryson’s “walk in the woods” is waiting in the wings for a read, he can be very amusing

    don’t think i ever told you, but i got a copy of that funny book you mentioned awhile back: “hypochondriacs guide to life and death” – it was so funny, i’d try and read parts aloud to mr x and just crack up, then i’d have to hand him the book so he could finish the sentence himself

    we have a countdown clock on our computer screen, how many days to flyday 🙂


  2. Lucky you, meeting Kel and Mr. X!! 🙂

    I read “The Secret Life of Bees” sometime this year, I think. I loved it. Saw the movie, too, which was okay. Enjoyed the book more, as usual.

    I’ll have to explore your music links when I get home. I went to the Decemberists link (cos I really like them) but it sounded all tinny on the laptop.


  3. Yeah, Kel – I meant to follow up with you about the Hypo book cuz last it was mentioned you had ordered it and were awaiting it’s arrival. Glad you and Mr X enjoyed it. The guy cracks me up…..seriously funny.
    (Didn’t know they had made a movie of ‘Secret Life…’. Must check that out.)
    Tick, tick, how many days now??


  4. Hey Robin – Yes, generally books are better than movies; they can convey more (I think). Sometimes they’ll leave out whole plot-lines or characters or half the book and you’re left wondering ‘what were you thinking?’.

    Yup, lucky me and hoping the logisitics work out in our favour. 🙂



Leave a Reply

