h1

Jeff Beck

December 17, 2010

Okay… I admit it. Where it comes to Jeff Beck’s music I’m a total FAN; absolutely ga-ga about how and where his technique and talent continue to take him. I don’t know how I missed its release back in April but for the last couple of weeks I’ve been listening (sometimes 3 or 4 times a day) to Emotion and Commotion – either in the car on CD or on my mp3 player at work. Yesterday I finally remembered to bring the CD into the house so I could play it on the Bose surround system. Eish! What a difference for picking up on missed timbre and nuance.

To my mind this is the magnificent culmination of Jeff’s quest for aural nirvana. It finds him at him most sensitive, collaborative and gifted point in his long career. At 66 years old he has come up with an absolute gem.

I’m heading into another weekend of 3 12 hour shifts so I’ve just loaded up my mp3 player with most of Jeff’s most recent output and I plan on enjoying a JB marathon tonight. To whit: ‘Official Bootleg USA 2006’; ‘JB Live at BB King 2003’ (both web order only); ‘Jeff’ (2003){studio}; ‘You Had It Coming’ 2001{studio}. I think that should hold me.

On Emotion and Commotion Jeff mixes it up with some self-written material as well as collaborations with long time keyboardist Jason Rebello and some covers. Three female singers appear on 4 tracks including Joss Stone on Screamin’ Jay Hawkin’s ‘I Put a Spell on You’.

Note for note this is the best set of music you can lay out money for this year. Oh btw, the Grammy folks seem to agree; it’s up for 5 awards.

2 comments

  1. Ok, then. It sounds like I MUST check this out. 🙂


  2. Yes, yes, yes – straight away too!

    He only shreds it up on two of them – the rest are very reflective, soulful, yet powerful songs.



Leave a Reply

