h1

Media Break

August 10, 2011

Swoosh

So,….. I haven’t been around again for a bit. I find I’m getting really tense so I’ve taken a bit of a break from the computer, TV news and the hard news at the front of the newspaper. Between wars, uprisings, financial meltdowns, factious politicians and their parties, yadda, scandals, yadda, trials,…. I’ve had enough for awhile.

Feel free to share some good news. That’s all I want to hear about these days.

Into another memoir; this one called ‘Running With Scissors’ by Augusten Burroughs. I didn’t like the way it started off; the ‘voice’ it was written in but I’ve gotten used to it and am enjoying it now at about a quarter of the way through. (It sounded more like narrative fiction than personal reflection {to me}).

Work – Stayng at the same location but new shift hours beginning next Monday. See how that goes….

Previous workplace – They are to finally re-open the facility after Labour Day. All the same counselling personnel are returning so no opening for me & that’s okay. I’m not going back to my old night position. But I had a major WTF moment when I heard who they had hired as the new manager. Still trying to pick my jaw up from the floor, still shaking my head. Can NOT believe it. What are they thinking?????

objects may appear wet

 Owen is coming for another week long visit. Woo-hoo!!

The chip truck (my stepson’s) was broken into last week. Glass everywhere and a bunch of cases of pop missing. A couple of days missed from working it but back in business now. Must have been the proverbial ‘gang of yoots’. (as per Joe Pesci) 

 

4 comments

  1. a media break is a healthy thing

    sorry to hear about the WTF moment and no opening for you, hope your new shifts suit you better though, bad news about the chip truck too

    sorry I don’t have any good news either, life seems to be serving up bowls of sad soup to everyone


  2. The good news is that none of this will last. It’ll all be different next week, month, year. It’s just I’ve had enough of the current crop for now so I’m going to plug my ears and sing, ‘la, la, la’. With the new shifts I’ll at least see Lynda on a daily basis . Maybe we should start a good news network. hmmm…???


  3. I always enjoy a good media break every now and then. It’s good for the soul. 🙂

    Good news… let’s see. We’re having gorgeous weather here in the Bogs lately. I’ve had the opportunity to spend a lot more time with my granddaughters than usual (yay!!). My year-long commitment to get outside every day and blog about it is almost over. I could use a break from the blogging bit, but will continue to get outside every day because I’ve found that it makes me feel good about life, the universe and everything.

    Oh! I’ve got one you’ll like. Amuirin posted again recently.

    I’m having to dig a little for the good news, but it’s there.


  4. 🙂 I’ve gotta agree with you – that it’s good for the soul – sort of like detox! Thanks for sharing your good news. Aren’t grandchildren great?! It’s wonderful to see Amuirin back blogging again. We’ve all missed her word stylings.



Leave a Reply

