h1

Another Year Older…..

August 21, 2011

…. and deeper in debt. (?) {is that how it goes? name that tune}

Had a hodge-podge of a day yesterday on my birthday. Got quite a bit of work done in the yard and lots of running around done. We didn’t wind up eating dinner til about 8:30 or so – late for us. Our neighbour ‘crazy ella’ and i share the same b’day so we had her in for dinner too.

liquidity

 Owen’s dad came and picked him up this morning so he was a little boo-hoo-ey pulling away. He’s going to miss his Gramma lots.

Can’t recall if I wrote about this or not and too lazy to look but I had a one week change in my work schedule whereby I actually got to spend a portion of the evenings with Lynda and Owen this past week. It took only a couple of days for the ‘powers that be’ to realize their plan wasn’t going to work the way they had envisioned. Tomorrow I’m back to my regular evening gig. ‘Whatever – just pay me come the end of the week.’

i know, i know... another 'shadowcast'

Lynda and I were supposed to go to a family ‘do’ today but I begged off this time. I picked up a cold that Owen had at the beginning of the week and I’d like to rest up today and try to nip this one in the bud. Speaking of which….. the sofa is calling my name in it’s siren voice. Coming…… 

Oh, a quick p.s….. I finished ‘Running With Scissors’ and it was a good read. Had I known when I picked it up that it was about a young kid’s realization growing up that he was gay, and included his first homosexual experiences and love story…. I probably would have went, ‘nah, not interested’. But I’m glad I read it; well written, thought provoking, different perspective, etc.

5 comments

  1. very nice of you to share your birthday dinner with a fellow bithday person, i’m sure she enjoyed sharing with you too

    man, how annoying, to have the taste of a week of evenings spent with family, then the big bad bosses go, ‘nah, silly idea’ and flip you back to living upside down to everyone else

    hope the sofa snooze nipped the cold bug in the bud


  2. Feeling not too bad today Kel. Lynda had fun at the get-together yesterday. It was a ‘Jack & Jill’ for her nephew and fiance. As for the shift – the change was well timed so as to spend more time with Owen. Would have been nice if it lasted 2 weeks so I’d have a week with Lynda all to myself.


  3. Hope you’re feeling better now, Norm.


  4. As the French say; comme-ci, comme-ca. Not great but not too bad.


  5. Re: the name that tune part….

    The song is ’16 Tons’, popularly recorded by Tennessee Ernie Ford. Heres a link to a recently posted version of it by Leon Russell.

    and it goes ‘another DAY older and deeper in debt’, not YEAR as I wrote it.



Leave a Reply

