h1

Dimming of the Day

January 6, 2012

I’m in the car the other day listening to Alison Krauss & Union Station’s latest CD ‘Paper Airplane’ when a track comes on and have a little ‘aha’ moment. ‘I know this song!’, but remember it being sung by a man. Beautiful lyric; lovely sentiment and Alison is singing it really well. Here’s their version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiy3qGCZZEc

But I’m continuing to ruminate on who I’ve heard perform it before… rummaging through my memory of male artists who might have done it. Finally I make the connection… it’s from David Gilmour’s “In Concert” DVD; the project before his ‘On An Island’ release. He does a really nice job of it too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EK2N3S0lr4c

Then I get into a search for it and find it was written by Richard and Linda Thompson and has been covered also by Emmylou Harris and Bonnie Raitt. Here’s Bonnie performing it with Richard:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1o8M74ufF4Q

Sometimes I have to follow these earworms that get stuck in my head. Had enough yet?

What’s new? A whole lotta nothin’. Laying low and trying to rest away a head cold that has been causing me an awful lot of pain  – head, ear, jaw, throat. Nothing major but a damned inconvenience. Gimme a week and I’ll be good as new.

 

4 comments

  1. I do that too, Norm. Gotta follow wherever that path leads. Thanks for this. I enjoyed it.

    Saw Richard Thompson in concert at a really small venue a year or so ago). Almost saw him again recently, but we were out of town and didn’t get back in time.

    Hope you feel better soon.


  2. ear worms 🙂
    they can lead you into a labyrinthine journey alright

    hope you are able to take some time off work while you are unwell
    rest is best


  3. Glad you enjoyed it Robin. One of the discs I bought myself for Xmas last year was a Richard Thompson one that had been highly recommended in the 2009 top10 lists. Recorded at a series of live shows – very good, but didn’t include that song (oddly). I like his voice and overall presentation.


  4. Yeah – funny how a tune can grab you sometimes, isn’t it Kel? My workweek is over and I’m up late on a Saturday morning having coffee and planning to do absolutely nothing. Don’t know if Lynda is going to go for that idea or not but I’m going for it. She always seems to have something for me to do or running around to do together. Nice but not always a good fit with how I’m feeling – like today.



Leave a Reply

