Archive for March 29th, 2012

h1

New Growth

March 29, 2012

Peony SproutsPeonies sprouting through last years stubble.

Up early this morning running errands for my stepson’s chip truck…. along for the ride is a buddy of his, Billy, to do the heavy lifting. Billy’s an aspiring guitar player and I had Howlin Wolf’s London Sessions CD in the deck. ‘Hey, I’m liking this – who is this guy?’. So, I’m explaining to him about Wolf’s place on the Chicago blues scene and some of his equally famous bandmates – Willie Dixon and Hubert Sumlin – and some of the more recent bands who have covered his tunes. My brush with greatness being knocked on my butt when I literally ran into Willie in a hallway leading back to the stage in Toronto’s El Macambo tavern back in about 1972. My 130 lb frame didn’t stand a chance against Dixon’s 260 lbs. The big man leans down and says. ‘ Can I help you up, son?’. Good ride, good time. Loaned Billy the CD.

Fishing Hut