h1

Well, Praise Be…..

May 21, 2011

…. it’s all sweetness, warmth and sunshine. Hallelujah, the weather finally changed. Gone are the everlasting back-to-back showers, grey skies and chilly temps. What a difference a couple of days make!

Because of the rain it had been 10 days since I had cut the lawns… hayfield anyone?? So, I’ve spent the last 3 or 4 hours doing the back yard, shirtless, and soaking up the sun. *Note to self: Don’t try to clear grass blockages at the outlet with the mower running again.* It was like a hammer blow to the tip of my middle finger – not nice. Glad I was wearing a glove though else otherwise it likely would have been gashed open. As it was there was a good deal of impromptu dancing, cursing,  involuntary clenching of the butt cheeks and swinging of the hand.

“Okay, don’t look. Just leave the glove on, put your hand back on the handle and keep mowing. Ah, screw it; I gotta look. Eewww – not bad; could be worse. Bet that’s going to throb for awhile.”

Three quarters of the nail is showing a nasty looking bruise underneath and it hurts a bit to type. Silly bugger – won’t do that again anytime soon.

Anyway, I’m loving the weather but right now I had to come cool off in the basement after all that mowing.

I thought I would have all sorts of free time this week to post here but it didn’t turn out that way. Turns out with Lynda away all this past week there was more for me to do; not less. C’est la vie. We’ve texted and talked a number of times each day but I’m still looking forward to when she arrives home tomorrow night. Phone calls just don’t equal face time.

Here’s a shot for Kel. I noticed this box at a local flea market down the street and around the corner.

Long Way From Home

….and another… the chip truck mascot.

 

George, at Your Service

 Time to go scrub the sweat and grime away. Catch ya on the flip side.

4 comments

  1. ouch! hope you have some arnica gel in your first aid cabinet…i found the best stuff in nth america/canada
    Arniflora arnica gel by Boericke & Tafel…

    love that fruit box, mr X loved it even more as it comes from the area he was born, where his family had a veggie farm that used to supply Melbourne markets

    George looks a bit overdressed for a chip truck waiter, but i like the sense of humour…


  2. Thanks for the remedy suggestion but it doesn’t feel too bad this morning… just sensitive to pressure. Geez, a slight miscalculation in the length of that blade.

    Glad you and Mr X liked the fruit box shot – it jumped out at me as I walked by. Of course Australia does have a very distinct shape… it has always reminded me of a rhino for some reason. George does lend a wee bit of class to the joint and people like him.


  3. I’m glad you didn’t cut that finger off, Norm. Yes, please, do turn off the mower first. Thank you. 🙂

    Love George. He’s great. lol!

    And the sunny weather sure was grand. 😀


  4. Yes Robin – I won’t be trying that again. I like having all my digits…. very attached to them. (groan)

    The sunshine and warmth certainly lifted my spirits. It was nice to spend some time working outside for a change.



Leave a Reply

