h1

Poem Pre-empted

May 25, 2009

Over the course of the last few days a series of words have been floating about my brain, bouncing around gathering other ‘like-weighted’ words and forming up nicely. I wondered where they had come from and where they might lead me; thought I might be able to get them down in some form of prose. Things were starting to gel; chunky images, atmosphere, strings of sound and meaning…. Then, out of nowhere, the cadence suddenly reminded me of….

Mairzy doats and dozy doats and liddle lamzy divey
A kiddley divey too, wouldn’t you?

(If you’d care to know more about it, click here)[courtesy of Wikipedia]

As I was growing up, every couple of years when my Dad was feeling good, kidding around and feeling goofy he would race through 2 or 3  recitations of what I had always thought was a nonsense ditty. It wasn’t until a couple of years before he died that he slowed it down one time and I realized it contained actual words. I was stunned after having heard it for over 40 years that it made some sort of sense.

Anyway….. now that I have this running through my mind I’m completely distracted and there won’t be another attempt at poetry tonight. Maybe for a long time. It’s as bad as when you get an ear-worm – one of those songs that sticks in your head all day.

2 comments

  1. Uh Oh, Now I got the ear worm!
    Mares eat oats and does eat oats and… aw jeez. LOL


  2. Ha Ha Ha – the best way to be rid of them is to pass them on. Thanks Lea – I hope you’ve relieved me of it. Do have fun with it before you give to someone else…. little lambs eat ivy, wouldn’t you?



Leave a Reply

