h1

Ranked

October 30, 2009

Here on the eve of unemployment, one by one, we’ve said our goodbyes. Talked about our hopes and plans for the future. Made all the usual promises to keep in touch. Remembered the good works we have accomplished in this place, the lives transformed.

This week at each of the outside meeting places we attend I’ve addressed those present with the pertinent details and thanked the groups for the part they have played in the recovery of our clients. There has been a lot of shock, many questions, some outrage that a facility such as this could be closed in times like these. Business decisions at a human cost.

I can’t afford to dwell on the negatives. Instead I choose to focus on the experience gained, knowledge accumulated, skills augmented and successes with men I’ve worked with. It’s a very conscious choice…… else I’d be crying bitter tears.

Now if I could only get the taste of bile out of the back of my throat…… 2 hours until I hand over my keys and go.

SSPX0431

everything ends

10 comments

  1. handing over the keys is a ritual that symbolises change

    my prayer for you:
    as one door closes
    may another open


  2. Great minds think alike – I almost titled this post ‘one door closes’.


  3. Norm,
    From the things you have shared with us, I can tell there are many places for you to continue your compassionate journey.
    The “key” is not in your hand, but in your heart.
    And that key will open many new doors for you.


  4. Thanks Lea for your kind words and good wishes. I SO hope you are right. In this field knowledge goes hand-in-hand with heart… but the heart leads most of the time.


  5. I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up, Norm, and very sorry to hear this news.

    *Hugs* to you. I’ll join with Kel in that prayer for another door to open for you.


  6. Yeah, geez…. you can’t go wandering off for a few days otherwise you miss the breaking news. Thanks for the good wishes Robin… and the *hug*.


  7. Another hug to you Norm.


  8. Right back at you. You’re ‘good people’; I sense you have an ‘old soul’. (& that’s a good thing too).


  9. keys and doors
    more confirmation for the message that came with your painted prayer
    I like what Lea says the “key” is not in your hand, but in your heart, and that key will open many new doors for you.


  10. recurring theme, wot?? i’m looking for the opening door….

    lea always has a good read on things…. if you haven’t been introduced please see my sidebar and check her archives.



Leave a Reply

